Stranger than Fiction

"So I was just over here minding my business and…"

Winning…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “You’re a Winner!.

I had other plans for what to write today. However, I saw the daily post writing prompt and figured that since I am looking for money for a variety of reasons, I might as well speak my “Winning” into the atmosphere.

What would I do with a billion dollars tax-free?

A billion dollars is a LOOOOOOOT of money. The possibilities are endless.

First of all, tithe. 10%. I believe in tithing. I was raised Christian. I take tithing seriously. My guilt when I forget/neglect to tithe knows no bounds.

Second, clear all debt. I have some outstanding student loans and some other debts that I am not necessarily proud of. I’d get rid of them with the quickness. I’d also make sure every account I own is funded with enough to pay rent for 6 months, and pretty much start over. Just in case there is ever any serious emergency.

Third, I’d invest in property. First, I’d buy my parents a new house. Fully furnished, service charges paid for at least ten years. And staff salaries and vehicles covered too. Then I’d invest in property in my five favorite places – Lagos, London, New York, DC metropolitan area and San Francisco.

Fourth, I’d set up a breast cancer rehabilitation and support foundation in memory of my maternal Aunt, and second mother, Mrs Oluremi Osheidu aka my Auntie O. She passed away from complications from breast cancer in December 2012. In her will, she left me all her jewelry, paintings and portraits. I loved her like I did my own mother. She called on every birthday, at Christmas and at the start of every year. She was the toughest woman I have ever known. I miss her everyday. I miss her especially on important days.

Fifth, I’d donate at least 100 million to ensuring that Lagos state revamps its vaccine management system. OR become a funder of my current organisation.

Sixth, I’d give all members of my family something. My sisters, my brothers, my cousins, my friends turned sisters. Something. Just enough to make some impact. No matter how small.

Seventh, I’d sort myself out. I’d go back to school- Master’s degree, specialized courses. I’d get myself a new car, new house, nutritionist, personal trainer, wardrobe….

Eighth, finally, I’d start my business(es). I have been holding out for so long because of work and competing priorities and really not knowing what to do. It has become a pressing need to get going. I am burdened by my knowing that this is not what I should be doing with my life. As much impact as my work has, my heart is not in the happiest place it can be. I need to change that. As soon as I can.

I’d obviously put money away and make sure my kids are good for college and beyond.

This list is not by any stretch or measure exhaustive. There are many many things that one billion dollars would enable one to do. I cannot even begin to fathom some of them. All I can do i hope and hope and hope.

Oh the possibilities…

Your thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Categories

Follow me on Twitter

